The living room reveal!

And here is the view into the adjoining dining room:

And the view back into the living room from the dining room:

I’m pretty happy with how everything turned out. We’re still on the look out for the perfect rug and a floor lamp for the end of the sofa. At some point we may replace the wicker side chairs with something upholstered… two chairs or a love seat, perhaps.

Overall, my townhouse is pretty close to being completely decorated. I’d still like to replace the dining room chandelier, some of the other ceiling light fixtures in the house, and I need a headboard for the bed.

Living Room Resources
Wall color: “Moonshine” by Benjamin Moore in EcoSpec flat
Sofa: “Blake in Otter Velvet” West Elm
Wicker chairs: Ikea
White chairs: Refurbished – Here is a post about it.
Coffee table: Dania Furniture
Table lamp: Ikea
Floor lamp: West Elm
Pillows: made by me!
Throw: HomeGoods
Curtains: JCPenney – Here is a post about hanging and hemming.
Frames: Ikea
Artwork: (framed) vintage fabric (paintings) my own – Here is a post about it.
Baskets next to sofa: Crate and Barrel

This entry was posted in Decorating and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The living room reveal!

  1. sigari says:

    Sophisticated foundations with exotic flourishes. Nicely done! Thanks for showing us the steps toward your makeover. Love the pups, btw. So sweet.

  2. Steph says:

    That looks great!! Major improvement from the band-aid walls lol. Great job, and I can’t believe how quickly you put it all together! I’ve been struggling with my LR/DR design for months and months :-/

    ::two thumbs up!::

    • Lindsay says:

      Thanks! I know it seems like it happened quickly… and it did once I finally started… but I’ve been over-thinking it for almost two years! Feels good to be mostly finished. Thanks for reading.

  3. Jill says:

    Looks great!

    Quick question–I’m looking at a West Elm sofa in “otter,” and I’m not near a store to go check out a swatch. Is it a charcoal grey, like it looks online, or more brown? Any insight would be so helpful! Thanks!

    • Lindsay says:

      Hi Jill. The otter velvet is a warm charcoal gray. Definitely gray.

      • David says:

        Your living room looks awesome! I have been debating on the Blake since I started working for West Elm back in 2009. And I am glad that I waited because when we had it, it only came in one fabric and color. I can’t decide if I want the “stone” or “otter”. Did you get the 81″ or 91″ sofa?

      • Lindsay says:

        Hi David – thanks for the compliment. I almost got the 91″, but when I taped it out in my space I realized how much it would have limited me. The delivery men could barely get the 81″ in our door, so I’m doubly glad I went with the smaller one. If you can pull it off, the 91″ would be really dramatic and luxurious.

  4. Barb says:

    Stunning look! How do you like the West Elm sofa? Is it comfortable over the long run? Do you think the long seat pillow is going to hold up over time? We’re just waiting for the identical sofa to be delivered and have a short period of time in which to return it if not happy so any insight would be greatly appreciated! Also wondering who makes that beautiful dining room rug?

    • Lindsay says:

      Hi Barb, thanks so much. We still really like the sofa. It seems to be holding up well. I haven’t even had to rotate or fluff the pillows and cushion yet. It is comfortable, but it is not as lounge-y as our old sofa. The side cushions also make it feel a bit small, but we just sometimes take those off if we’re both watching TV and have the dogs up with us. The single seat cushion makes it a bit more formal, but I like the look. I do think I want a long and wide upholstered bench to replace the coffee table to put our feet on and make it a little more cozy.

      As for the dining room rug, I bought it at HomeGoods about 8 months ago. They carry all different manufacturers so it’s hard to say who made it. The tag on the back just says it was handmade in India of 100% wool, so not much help there either!

Comments are closed.