Chicken soup from this-and-that

A few weeks ago, my husband and I roasted two chickens over the weekend and enjoyed various leftovers all week. I wrote about it here. At the time, I made a big batch of chicken stock, used some for kale and potato soup, and froze the rest.

Recently, I made chicken noodle soup with the frozen chicken stock. Here’s how it went. You could easily do this with frozen turkey stock leftover from Thanksgiving if you have some.

Here is the frozen stock in my freezer.

I microwaved each container for two minutes to loosen the frozen broth. I put them in a big pan and turned the heat on low.

Then, I took this guy on his walk. Isn’t he cute?

Shortly after I got back from the walk, the stock looked like this.

These little helpers made the stock a bit more flavorful.

I chopped up half an onion and the rest of the carrots and celery in my fridge. In a separate pan, I warmed up some butter and sautéed the veggies until they were crisp-tender.

Then, I added the veggies to the broth.

I let that boil for about four minutes and skimmed off the foam. Then I added a bag of egg noodles. Once the noodles were cooked, I added two cans of chicken. If I had saved and frozen some of the chicken, I could have used that. But I didn’t and  I had these cans of chicken, so in they went.

I heated it through for another minute or two, and then it was time to ladle up a few bowls, head to the living room, and turn on the Blazers game.

Sometimes we like to add a little dab of this to our bowls of hot soup. Yum!

Do you ever make soup from ingredients lying around your kitchen? What have you done with leftovers recently?

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.