Chocolate and Cream Cheese Cupcakes

Chocolate and cream cheese cupcakes (a.k.a. Black Bottom Cupcakes) are tasty little treats. They are wonderful any time of the year, but I usually make them at Christmastime. They are very rich and moist, and easy to make since they don’t require any frosting.

Here are the ingredients for two dozen of these tasty gems:

Filling

  • 1 (8oz) package cream cheese, softened
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Cake

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 Tbsp cider vinegar or white vinegar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

I recently whipped up a batch for a little get-together my husband and I hosted. Here are the steps I followed:

1. Make the cream cheese filling. Mix the softened cream cheese, sugar, egg, and salt. Beat until light and fluffy. I used an electric hand-held mixer for this, but you could do it by hand. Then, gently stir in the chocolate chips. I think the mini kind work best, but I only had regular, so in they went.

2. In a separate bowl, make the cake batter. Sift the flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt together. Mix in the sugar. Then, make a little well in the middle and pour in the water, oil, vinegar, and vanilla. Like this:

3. Mix the batter until well blended. You’ll now have two separate bowls, ready to go.

4. Put paper muffin liners in your muffin pan and fill 1/3 full with chocolate batter. It’s best to fill them a bit under what you might expect. They rise quite a bit and turn out better when only filled 1/3 of the way with batter. Then, add a generous dollop of cream cheese filling to each one.

5. Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes (mine were done at 29 minutes). Make sure the cream cheese filling is just ever-so-slightly brown along the edges.

Here they are, ready for company complete with candle and mini-cocktail napkins (my only exception to using cloth napkins is pretty little cocktail napkins for drinks or dessert). If you look real closely you can see my husband and I on our wedding day in the photo in the pink frame.

If you enjoyed this post, you may like some of my other how-to baking posts:

This entry was posted in Entertaining, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chocolate and Cream Cheese Cupcakes

  1. Erin Donley says:

    You are teaching me how to cook here Lindsay… these are cute and seem delish. I’m going to make your chicken noodle soup tonight. Thanks for keepin it simple and picturesque – I’m a visual learner. Cheers!

  2. Lindsay says:

    Thanks Erin! I’m addicted to the visuals too, but you already know that about me. Glad you’re stopping by.

  3. Pingback: Rescuing bananas from a sad fate « Urban Domesticity

Comments are closed.