Holiday memories and plans

My husband’s sweet Nan sent us this trio of glass snowmen. This is the first year I’ve been able to display them since I have more space than I had in our former apartments.

Christmas has always been my favorite time of year (late-summer-turning-into-autumn is a close second.) As a girl, I loved baking cookies with my Dad, setting up the silly artificial tree my parents used for twenty-five years, watching Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer over and over again, and wrapping gifts for all of my family members. I loved Rudolph so much that I would re-enact the movie using a set of ornaments my mom kept on our family room mantle. I think I made my little brother sit through various showings.

On Christmas eve, we always went to a candle light service at church. The center aisle would be lined with an extra folding chair at the end of each pew to accommodate the additional visitors. I loved lighting the candles at the end of the service by turning to my neighbor, accepting the flame from their candle, and then turning to pass the flame on to the next person. I remember there was always a fire man in the back of the church, holding a candle, observing the service.

Christmas morning was always spent at home with my parents and brother. For all eighteen years I lived at home, we never strayed from this tradition. Then, in the afternoon, my grandparents, cousins, and uncle would all come over and my mom would cook dinner.

This Rosemary tree is from Trader Joe’s and has little sparkles in it.

This year my husband and I are having a very laid-back, quiet Christmas. In years past, family has traveled out to see us or we’ve celebrated with local friends. This year, our families are remaining firmly planted on the east coast, and all of our friends are traveling out-of-town for the holiday. Fortunately, we enjoy one another’s company and we’re looking forward to spending time eating, opening gifts, and watching holiday movies together.

This morning we don’t have snow on the ground, but Portland is coated in a thick blanket of white fog. I still have to wrap my husband’s gifts, but I saved those for last on purpose because I didn’t need to ship them like I did with the family gifts. Tonight, for Christmas Eve dinner, we hope to go out for Indian or Thai food. We’re crossing our fingers we’ll find someplace open for dinner.

Tomorrow morning, we’ll sleep in and put the strata in when we finally wake up. Then we’ll spend the morning opening gifts and talking on the phone to family. I’m hoping to spend some time watching A Christmas Story–my all time favorite holiday movie. For dinner we’re cooking seared duck with a cherry and port wine reduction sauce with mashed potatoes and pan-fried brussels sprouts. I’m also planning on making my lemon sponge pie.

What are your favorite childhood memories of Christmas? What are your plans this year?

This entry was posted in Holidays and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Holiday memories and plans

  1. rex says:

    Strata and lemon sponge pie = crazy delicious.

  2. Marisa says:

    Are the snowman from sweet Nan II? I love it!

  3. Lindsay says:

    Yes, Nan II 🙂

Comments are closed.