Gray dining room walls

Yesterday, I wrote about the steps I followed to paint my dining room gray. The walls are Silver Fox by Benjamin Moore in an eggshell finish. We used their Eco Spec formula. As promised, here are the final results. Silver Fox is a very warm gray, which means it can read slightly violet in some light. It rarely reads as blue, but it certainly has a cool cast to it overall.

The above picture is the view into the kitchen. I like how the warm tones of the cabinetry are brought out next to the cool gray. The place mats on the table were a gift from my sister-in-law. She knitted them for us last year and they look great with the new gray walls. The painting to the right of the doorway is one of mine. It’s an oil painting on paper. My husband liked it so much that I had framed for him as a 1st anniversary gift. The framed print to the left of the door is a silly Schnauzer poster. I’m not sure if I’m going to hang it there or not. What do you think?

The above are views looking into the living room which is still painted a warm cream tone. The painting hanging over the sofa used to be in the dining room over the sideboard, but now that the walls are gray, I swapped the paintings. I may actually paint the entire living room in Silver Fox, but I haven’t decided yet. I may choose a chalkier, lighter gray for the living room.

I especially enjoy the way my vase collection looks against this color.

Consider a subscription
Did you know you can receive Urban Domesticity via email? It’s easy to sign up. Just click here to receive daily email updates with the latest content. Alternatively, you can subscribe to Urban Domesticity in your favorite blog reader by clicking here.

This entry was posted in Decorating, Home Ownership and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Gray dining room walls

  1. stephanie says:

    very beautiful, really. love the contemporary nature of everything.

  2. Lindsay says:

    Thanks Stephanie. Our next task is to find a new, larger table that still keeps the open, modern feel. I love this one but it’s just not big enough for parties!

  3. carmen says:

    Lovely. I also like seeing the artwork you have displayed–especially the sketch of the fan!

    (By the way–I have a shower curtain in the same leafy pattern as the chair in your living room!)

  4. Lindsay says:

    Thanks Carmen. My husband actually picked that fabric out when we ordered the chair. He said “What about this one?” and I said “Oh yes!”

    I drew that fan as a study for a painting, but I ended up liking the sketch better than the final painting. You may also see the actual fan in pics around this blog too. Here it is living in our old apartment:

  5. Pingback: Dining room layout planning « Urban Domesticity

  6. Pingback: Household maintenance to-dos « Urban Domesticity

Comments are closed.