Little details around the home

Perhaps it’s the painter in me, but I just love little still life vignettes around the home. Sometimes these little scenes are intentional, and other times objects just seem to accidentally arrange themselves in a pleasing way. I took the photo above in my former apartment kitchen. The shelves hold a mix of intentional and accidental arrangements.

This little guy lives on my bathroom windowsill in a wooden soap dish. Sometimes he keeps my jewelry company.

From time to time,  this tiny skunk family hides out in my collection of vases.

I enjoy intentional arrangements like this table top …

… and accidental surprises like this kitchen corner.

I’d love to make the photo above into a little oil painting. I just love those different citrus fruits piled up against the gray wall, and the orange thermos ties the little picture together. This photo also features one of the switch plates I found thrifting. Doesn’t it look handsome?

Sometimes a sparse, white scene is especially pleasing, like this view from my former apartment.

And other times I like to look at a bit of a jumble, like this scene from my old painting studio.

Tomorrow I’ll share some tips and tricks for ensuring that stuff becomes pleasing arrangements, rather than dusty clutter. In the meantime, check out some more pretty home photos at this Flickr group devoted to interior styling.

This entry was posted in Decorating and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Little details around the home

  1. Kermiefrg says:

    Your little “scenes” are so cute! I always wonder why it looks so nice when other people do this, but when I do it myself, it just looks like clutter : )

  2. Lindsay says:

    Thanks kermie 🙂 Tomorrow I’m going to post some how-tos about keeping it uncluttered.

  3. MM says:

    I, too, love the intentional and accidential arrangements I discover around my home. My clients often comment on how I arrange things. I’ve pondered this in recent years as I’ve struggled with with decluttering.

    I think you have a natural sense of balance and it’s at work even when you aren’t aware of it. I’m not sure how much natural sense I have, but I do know that I will rearrange a grouping until it “feels” right.

    And I know I’ve picked up a few ideas here and there over the years…I used your idea of groupings when decorating for the holidays. Santas here, bells there, etc. I was very pleased with the result!

    BTW, those little skunks are adorable! Did you find them together or over time? Great post!

  4. Lindsay says:

    I actually found those little skunks all together at a second-hand store, but they were not made to go together. Someone must have collected them over time and then decided to sell them. It makes me happy that someone else took the time to find them and they still live together in their new home.

  5. Pingback: Styling vignettes « Urban Domesticity

Comments are closed.