Dining room layout planning

Last week, I shared some potential layouts I’m considering for my bedroom. I’ve been having fun making model rooms and cutting out to-scale pieces of furniture. I decided to do the same for my dining room.

While I’m happy with my dining room for the most part, I would really like a larger table and some new chairs. I’m also considering whether or not I want a rug in the dining room. I found a table at Ikea that I may purchase. The price is great, and I won’t feel too precious about it. I don’t want a table that I have to pamper and baby right now. I need a table that will stand up to moisture and art projects. Maybe I’ll invest in a mid-century modern teak table (my dream table) at some point, but not right now.

Anyway, here is the basic layout as it stands now. I’ll be keeping my sideboard and my book shelves.

And here is the space with the round table I like:

I have my eye on a colorful, hand-knotted rug from Ikea’s Stockholm line. It would definitely bring some drama to the otherwise neutral space:

The great thing about this table is that is also expands into an oval and easily seats 6-8 people:

Of course, perhaps it makes more sense to turn the table the other way.

I’m actually worried the rug might be too small. I want all the chair legs to stay on the rug when they are pulled out. Right now, it looks to be cutting it a bit close.

In the absence of actually buying any new furniture, these little drawing and layout projects have been satisfying my need to perpetually re-decorate. How about you? How do you plan out your spaces?

This entry was posted in Decorating, Home Ownership and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dining room layout planning

  1. Travis says:

    Google has a really intuitive tool for laying out 3d designs called Sketchup (http://sketchup.google.com/) – you can create a fast, accurate 3d model of a room (the advantage being that you can check it out from different angles) and where things would fit in it quickly and easily.

  2. Lindsay says:

    Sweet! I’ll have to check that out. Thanks Travis.

Comments are closed.