Vegetarian white bean patties

My husband and I have been making these tasty vegetarian treats since we were in college. The recipe is from this little cook book we must have picked up in line at a grocery store once.

These are quick and easy, and fairly frugal as well. If you’re looking for an easy meatless meal give these a try. Here are the ingredients:

1 15oz can cannellini beans (or any type really, I just used white beans)
1 Tbsp lemon juice
1 egg
1/3 cup bread crumbs (seasoned or plain, doesn’t matter)
2 Tbsp grated Parmesan cheese
1/4 tsp garlic salt
1/4 tsp hot pepper sauce
half of a small tomato, chopped
2 Tbsp finely chopped celery (about 1 stalk)
2 Tbsp finely chopped bell pepper (about 1/4 pepper)
2 Tbsp finely chopped onion (about 1/4 small onion)

And here are the steps. (Scroll down for pictures.)

1. Drain and rinse the beans and mash in a medium bowl. I used a pastry blender, but you might be able to use a food processor.

2. Add the lemon juice and egg and blend well. Add the bread crumbs, cheese, garlic salt, and hot pepper sauce. Stir to blend.

3. Finally, chop and add the veggies.

4. Make four patties. I divided the mixture into four, rolled the mix into balls, and then flattened them a bit to form the patties.

5. We cooked ours in a little olive oil on a non-stick pan. Heat the pan and oil up a bit first.

6. Cook until a little bit brown, then flip them over. I think they cooked for a total of around 10 minutes.

7. I like mine with a dollop of Greek yogurt. The Mr. puts salsa on his.

They go great with a green salad and a glass of red wine.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vegetarian white bean patties

  1. MM says:

    These look delicious! What’s NOT frugal about them? I’d have to leave out a couple ingredients that wouldn’t agree with me, but I’m already thinking of the substitions to compensate for the flavor! I’m thinking I’d like tasziki on top–close to your greek yogurt but with a bit more flavor. thanks for this great looking receipe!

  2. Lindsay says:

    I guess the un-frugal aspect is that, if you have to buy all the ingredients at once, it can be more expensive. Since we always have hot sauce and Parmesan cheese around, it keeps the cost down. Also, I always have to figure out what to do with the rest of the pepper, tomato, and onion. Let me know how they turn out for you.

  3. Yummy, I want to try making these!

    Katy Wolk-Stanley
    “Use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without.”

  4. Cheryl says:

    These look so good! I just did our grocery shopping yesterday but I’m going to put them on the menu for next week.

Comments are closed.