Banishing plastics and chemicals

Over the past year or so, I’ve successfully removed many plastics and chemicals from my life. Nothing in particular instigated the change, but I feel it is a positive shift for health and earth-love reasons. Here are some of my new favorite green, natural, and healthy day-to-day things:

• Cloth and canvas grocery bags. We have a nice stash of reuseable grocery bags that we remember to take to the store 95% of the time. Storing them in the trunk of our car helps with remembering to use them.

• A metal water bottle. I love my aluminum water bottle and feel good about not drinking from plastic.

• A cast iron skillet. The Mr. and I recently invested in a high quality cast iron skillet to replace the non-stick one we’d been using for several years. It took a few meals and a tiny bit of work to get it properly seasoned so that food doesn’t stick. But now, this pan is amazing. It’s naturally non-stick, cleans up in a snap, and food cooked on it tastes great. I may have to devote an entire post to the skillet at some point.

• Glass leftover containers. For years I used plastic leftover containers for food, and I even microwaved food in them… a big no-no, apparently. I invested in some high-quality glass containers with snap on plastic lids. I just feel healthier eating from them.

• Vinegar and water. I’ve been using a cleaning solution of 50/50 white vinegar and water. This natural cleaner works great on so many surfaces including windows, mirrors, granite, stainless steel, my glass cook top, bathroom surfaces, and spot treatments on the wood floors. And last weekend I tackled the soap scum in the tub. I sprayed the 50/50 solution on the tub and let it soak in for about five minutes. Then I scrubbed with a Mr. Clean Magic Eraser and… wow!

• No parabens or phthalates. I’ve been scrutinizing cosmetic and personal care labels for these nasty additives and (trying) to choose products that don’t contain them. You can read more about these scary chemicals here.

• Organic dairy and vegetables. The Mr. and I have been making room in the budget for more organic groceries. Even if it means eating out one less time a month, the health benefits are worth it to me. I’ve been buying organic milk, leafy veggies, tomatoes, eggs, and potatoes.

• Cloth produce bags. This is my latest upgrade. I was getting depressed about all the plastic bags we used at the store to put fruit and vegetables in, so I found and made a few cloth ones. I’m actually going to write a how-to post on this tomorrow. Stay tuned…

How about you? What green day-to-day habits and items do you have?

This entry was posted in Day to day and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Banishing plastics and chemicals

  1. Cheryl says:

    We practice a lot of similar habits. I think another huge step (one you seem to do too) is cooking food at home. I think the time invested is worth it. I like knowing what the ingredients are in our food and I really believe it tastes better too!

    • Lindsay says:

      Hi Cheryl. Yes, we do cook at home a lot more than we used to. It’s been healthier for us, and a real money saver over going out to eat all the time.

Comments are closed.