Guest post: How to make French pressed coffee

This is a guest post by the Mr. Since he makes all of our coffee, I thought it best he explain the process. (I took the pictures.)

Get a French Press.
A French press at a kitchen store will run you somewhere between $35-$55. But don’t take the expensive road to good coffee. I have never spent more than $20 for one. Places to look for a perfectly good press are stores like Marshall’s or Home Goods, or on the sale shelves at coffee shops that sell merchandise.

Grinding
Most directions for making French press will tell you to use course ground coffee. Don’t under grind your coffee! The “course” setting on most grocery store grinders will spit out large coffee chunks and will make a weak and watery cup.

I have found that the best setting is usually one or two settings courser than the setting for drip coffee. The easiest way to ensure you have the right grind (and to learn what it looks like) is to have a barista at a quality coffee shop grind a bag of beans for you the first time. Just tell them it’s for a French Press.

Making it Happen
Filling With Grounds

I usually eyeball how much coffee to put in (this is not an exact science). To get an idea of how much you should put in, press the plunger down in the empty press, notice the space between the plunger and the bottom, and imagine that space packed with coffee grounds.

Another way is to use that little spoon that comes with the press. The trick with the spoon is to know how many cups your press makes (as they come in just about any size you can think of). Use one scoop for every cup of coffee. Either method should result in roughly the same amount of grounds.


Hot Water
Bring your water to a boil in a tea kettle, however, let the boiling cease before pouring it over the grounds. Fill it almost to the top leaving enough room for the plunger.

Do not stir…yet.

Let the grounds float for one minute undisturbed.

Stir
Gently stir the beans until all the grounds are incorporated and a thick foam forms at the top of the press. (We stir with a chopstick.)  Gently put the top of the press on, just allowing the plunger to submerge the grounds. Wait two minutes longer.

Press
Do it.

Pour
That’s all I got.

Lindsay’s note: I like to drink my French pressed coffee from my trusty Waffle House keepsake mug ’cause I like a little silliness in the morning. Tasty!

If you have any questions for the Mr. about French press coffee, use the comment form below.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Guest post: How to make French pressed coffee

  1. saverchic says:

    Oh my heavens! I miss coffee so much.

  2. My very first job was at Waffle House. Also I am completely and utterly jealous of your counters. /wistful sigh

    • Lindsay says:

      Waffle House was a family road trip staple, so I’m a bit of a nut about my mug. As for the counters: thanks! They were here when we moved in. Needless to say, we were stoked.

  3. MM says:

    I always think my coffee tastes better out of my favorite mugs! I have 3 or 4 special ones. Obviously, my coffee drinking is the whole experience, not just the beverage.

    And the Mr. makes very great coffee! I’ve had some of it myself! Great post. It has cleared up a couple things for me.

Comments are closed.