Long Weekend Report

The Mr. and I had a three day weekend, ending with President’s Day yesterday. It was a nice luxury to bask in three un-filled days. On Friday, we went to a good friend’s Birthday party. On Saturday, we met friends for brunch at the little restaurant around the corner from our house. Then, we split up boys and girls and the guys brewed beer and played video games all day and my friend and I went shopping.

It’s been forever since I’ve really gone shopping… just browsing stores and kind of looking for a few things I need. I bought a pair of jeans, a cute little yellow sweatshirt, and a tiny bottle of nail polish. I haven’t spoiled myself with treats like this in a while, so it was really fun.

Come to think of it, that’s one of the great things about conscious spending: the things I do buy feel more special and make for more of an occasion.

On Sunday, the Mr. went to pick up breakfast in the morning and arrived back at home with bagels and these:

Aren’t they pretty?

Later we exchanged valentines. I made his myself, ’cause I’m crafty like that. And (get ready for a little-known fact about Lindsay) I am also completely obsessed with vintage cigarette ads from old magazines. Especially from the 60s and 70s. I don’t know why, but it has something to do with the slightly ridiculous lovey-dovey pictures of happy couples. The fact they are smoking in the photos is secondary, but definitely adds to the kitsch factor.

In any event, I dug through my collection of old ads and found this perfect one for the Mr’s valentine. Isn’t it kind of great? (I added the hearts, message, and ribbon.)

Then, the Mr. baked bread and one of our friends dropped off a set of stereo speakers. He and his wife are moving to LA and ridding themselves of stuff. We were happy to take the speakers off their hands… especially the Mr. I’m still not sure how we’ll work them into our space but they are cool looking, so it should be a fun challenge.

Finally, we headed over to this place for Valentine’s dinner.

But, enough about me already. What did you do this past weekend? Did you have Monday off? How did you celebrate Valentine’s Day?

This entry was posted in Day to day and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Long Weekend Report

  1. Love the homemade card! How thoughtful!

  2. MM says:

    I copied the following poem into my honey’s card:

    Wild nights – Wild nights! (269)

    BY EMILY DICKINSON

    Wild nights – Wild nights!
    Were I with thee
    Wild nights should be
    Our luxury!

    Futile – the winds –
    To a Heart in port –
    Done with the Compass –
    Done with the Chart!

    Rowing in Eden –
    Ah – the Sea!
    Might I but moor – tonight –
    In thee!

    I’ve always felt this a surprizing poem for a spinster, living in her time. Anyway, It went into a nice, pre-made card. The Honey received a 12 pack of Yeungling’s lager (not sure I spelled that right!). This is a favorite brew around here, and he loves it.

    I received a two pound box of Josh Earley candy! If you are from this area, you know how yummy that is! It is so hard to eat it in moderation.

    Sorry for the long post Lindsay! But I thought others might like the poem. MM

Comments are closed.