Recycled sock wrist warmers

A couple years ago, the Mr. put a few pairs of cashmere blend knee-high socks in my stocking at Christmas. Since then, I’ve been hooked. I now count cashmere blend wool socks as a necessary luxury. They keep me soooo toasty warm and comfortable all winter long.

Now I have more than a few pairs, but some of my earliest pairs grew holes on the heels and toes. Such a bummer. A friend of mine showed me a pair of wrist warmers she made with old socks, so this year I blatantly stole her idea and made a few of my own!

This is an easy project and a great way to get more use out of wool socks. Since they are not cheap, it would seem such a shame to throw them away when only the bottoms are thin and full of holes.

1. First, cut the socks at the ankle.

2. Next, pull them up on your forearms and look to see where your thumb hits. Cut a little slit there.

3. Thread a needle with a matching or complimentary thread and stitch around the thumb hole for reinforcement. You could do the same around the top edge, but I’m lazy and skip this.

4. All done! A lovely pair of wrist warmers. Perfect for keeping drafts out of coat sleeves, 3/4 length sleeves, or simply wearing around the house when you still need your fingers unencumbered by gloves. They are just as toasty on your arms as they were on your legs.

How do you re-purpose worn out clothing? Please share your ideas in the comment section below.

This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Recycled sock wrist warmers

  1. Kathleen says:

    I did something similar with a pair of ridiculous toe-socks that I received a few years ago. I cut the tips off each of the toes and used craft glue instead of stitching to hold the edges together. The part I liked best was being able to wear them under another pair of gloves on the really cold days.

  2. Erin Donley says:

    Holy crap… this gives me a whole new look. Thanks Lindsay, killer idea!

  3. Carol says:

    I have those toe socks! I’m doing this for sure. We try to be green by keeping the thermostat fairly low during our Toronto winters and I could use a boost to keep my hands warm. Thanks for the idea.

    Just discovered your blog – it’s beautiful. Congratulations on getting your decorative envelopes on Apartment Therapy!

  4. Jessie says:

    Nice! I’ve never even thought of that! I have a pair of wool socks that I was feeling really sad about just this morning. When they finally wear out on the bottom, I’ll definitely try this!

  5. Christine says:

    Can you tell me which cashmere-blend socks in particular you buy? I’d like to start replacing worn socks with these toasty, heavenly-sounding socks, but there are so many to choose from!

    • Lindsay says:

      Hi Christine. I’ve been loving Smart Wool socks lately (www.smartwool.com). Some of their’s have cashmere, others not but all are cozy and not itchy. I’ve also gotten some great ones at Anthropologie, but they seem to change their lines from time to time and I haven’t found any there recently. JCrew has some really great ones too, but I think they are hard to get this time of year.

      One tip I have for when you do find some: wash them in cold water (if possible) and always hang them up to dry. Mine have lasted a lot longer since I made this change.

Comments are closed.