The lived-in look

Just in case I’ve given the false impression that my home is always organized, immaculate, and tidy, I thought you might enjoy these photos of what the place looked like over the weekend. I call it the lived-in look and I’m quite familiar with it. When the Mr. and I got home from running errands on Saturday, this is what we came home to:

So guess what I had to spend the afternoon doing? Blah.

This entry was posted in Day to day and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The lived-in look

  1. Jen says:

    Hey, if my house looked like that it would be clean ; )

  2. MM says:

    Awwh, it just makes you human. Sometimes, I wonder how I can manage to have a home that looks like it has been shaken–and I live alone! Except for the cats, of course.

  3. Holly Young says:

    Lindsay, Lindsay, Lindsay, you made my day. 🙂

  4. Clare says:

    Thank you for showing these. You seem a lot more real!

    I’ve been reading your blog for a couple of months now. I was particularly inspired by a curtain project you showed and decided that I finally had to create a curtain for our teeny-tiny bathroom (the sole one in our 4-person household).

    I found an old piece of pretty cotton that I inherited from my grandmother, sewed a pocket, and used your idea of spring rod (mine from Target). Voila! I’d send you a pic but I can’t find your email on your blog. Anyway, thanks for the inspiration and instructions.

    • Lindsay says:

      Hi Clare. Thanks! Maybe I should make this a regular feature since, more often than not, my house has the lived-in vibe. It’s usually only picture-perfect before.. well… before I snap a picture! Or have people over.

      So glad you were able to make a little cotton curtain. It sounds really cute. You can email me anytime at urbandomesticity@gmail.com

    • Lindsay says:

      Oh, and you inspired me to make a “contact” page so that people can more easily hunt down my email address.

Comments are closed.