Bedroom makeover progress: new furniture

This is the fifth post in the ongoing project of updating my master bedroom. On Monday, I revealed the new paint color: Eternity by Benjamin Moore. Yesterday, I detailed the various options we considered for furniture sets. Without further ado, here is our final furniture choice: the Hampton pieces from JCPenny.

We absolutely love these pieces. They look really nice against the soothing walls, and they pick up the darker tones of the hardwood floors. And the price was amazing: $1,376 for the four pieces plus $100 for delivery. I believe they were originally priced almost 50% more, so I think we got them at a clearance price. We were able to find room in the budget to save up for this set, and it really is a treat for us. We looked at a lot of second hand stores and just didn’t find any coordinated pieces that were big enough. Some of the vintage mid-century dressers we like are actually more expensive than this entire set! Yikes!

They are generously sized and made of real wood with veneers. The drawers feature dovetail joints, cedar lining in the bottom drawers, and velvet lining in the top drawers.

We’ve now moved in our clothing and alarm clocks, but I’m not ready to give you a full shot of the room yet because I still have so much I want to do before I do a big “reveal.” I’d like bedside lamps, a fluffy rug, a mirror, and a chair or love seat. I’d also love an upholstered headboard. Needless to say, those things don’t come cheap and I am on a budget, so I’m trying to be patient.

You can get caught up on the other posts in this project:

  • To read about the furniture layout planning, click here.
  • I posted “before” pictures here.
  • Check out this post about painting the walls.
  • And this post details the furniture selection process.

What are some bedroom accessories and features that you just can’t do without? What little touches make your bedroom feel special and cozy? Please share in the comment section below.

This entry was posted in Decorating and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bedroom makeover progress: new furniture

  1. Kathleen says:

    Not sure what your visual plan involves, but Adam made our upholstered headboard – so easy. Basic chipboard from Home Depot and then I had the batting already. Then we picked out a nice neutral faux-suede material that we liked at Jo-Ann’s. In our old apartment, we had it mounted on the wall, but when we moved into this place, I never found a friend to help me hang it, so it’s just wedged between our bed and the wall, but still looks decent.

    • Lindsay says:

      I have been thinking about making one, but I’m not sure how to mount it to the wall. We don’t have power tools (other than a drill.) How did you guys mount yours?

  2. Elizabeth says:

    A really great reading lamp and nice curtains. I think curtains really make a room and I like heavy ones that look great and block out the light.

    I’m loving your room so far! The furniture is similar to what I have, but I don’t have a bedside table. I really like this one!

  3. carmen says:

    Love it 🙂 That is beautiful. I look forward to when we’re able to get “real” bedroom furniture instead of the particle-board Target kind! That’s a great deal, too!

    • Lindsay says:

      We’ve gotten some great stuff from Target, even if it is made of fake wood. We have a desk from there that I really like.

  4. Patti says:

    Hi Lindsay,

    Looks beautiful! I can’t wait to see the finished result.

    Patti

  5. Patti says:

    Hi again,

    Thought you might be interested in this website. I love their pillows. I have been waiting for one to go on sale but it never has!

    Patti

Comments are closed.