Turkey Salisbury Steak

When I hear the words “Salisbury Steak,” I immediately think of the elementary school cafeteria. For some reason, that’s the only place I ever heard of this dish, and I think it was on the cafeteria menu almost once a week. That, coupled with the fact that my husband and I don’t eat beef, means I’ve largely ignored this dish.

That said, I was intrigued by a recipe I came across in Better Homes and Gardens: “Turkey Salisbury Steak with White Bean Mash.” The Mr. and I are always looking for new recipes for chicken or turkey, and this was quite different. Substituting a bean dish for potatoes also appealed to me since white beans are packed with more nutrients and fiber than potatoes.

We made this meal for the first time last week and I really loved it. I think it will have a place in our regular rotation of meals, especially during chillier months. Below are the ingredients and steps I followed.  Click here to find the original and printable recipe on the Better Homes and Gardens website.

Salisbury “Steak” ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1 envelope onion soup mix
  • 2 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tsp. olive oil
  • 1 clove minced garlic
  • 1 Tbsp. butter
  • 2 cups sliced fresh mushrooms
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup dry wine (or more broth)
  • 1/4 cup tomato paste

White Bean Mash ingredients:

  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 15oz cans white beans
  • 1/4 cup chicken broth
  • 1/2 tsp thyme (I skipped this)
  • 1 tsp lemon juice

First, I prepped the veggies. I drained and rinsed the beans, washed and sliced the mushrooms, and minced enough garlic for both recipes.

Next, I mixed the turkey with two tablespoons of the soup mix and one tablespoon of the Worcestershire sauce.

Meanwhile, the Mr. made the white bean mash. He cooked two cloves of minced garlic in hot olive oil for about a minute. Then he stirred in the beans and mashed them in the pan. Finally, he added a little bit of broth, heated the beans through, and added salt and pepper.

While he worked on that, I shaped the turkey into five patties and placed them in hot oil over medium high heat. They only cooked for about 4 minutes per side.

Next,I removed the turkey from the pan (just for now!) and cooked the garlic in the butter. I added the mushrooms to the pan and cooked them for about 5 minutes.

Then I added the broth, wine, tomato paste, and remaining Worcestershire sauce and soup mix. I returned the turkey patties to the skillet.

I covered the skillet with a lid and let the whole thing cook for about 10 more minutes. I checked the turkey with a meat thermometer to make sure it was done. We dished up the meal and added some ground pepper. It was super yummy and I had two whole servings of each left over for lunches.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.