What would your dream house be like?

Even though I’m totally in love with our townhouse condo, I still fantasize about my dream house. Normally this is just some vague image of a grand old house in a nice part of Portland. I decided to get more specific, however, and find out if my dream house even exists.

Here are the details I decided on:

  • Old… at least 1950, or earlier.
  • But completely updated and modernized, including new fixtures, electrical, and plumbing.
  • A really awesome, large kitchen with new appliances.
  • Lots of bedrooms… at least four. But the more the better.
  • At least two and a half bathrooms. Hopefully more!
  • A basement.
  • A two car garage for our one car, and my husband’s bikes.
  • A big front porch. Or at least an awesome patio or deck out back. Or both!
  • An attic or out building for me to use as a painting studio.
  • A backyard with mature trees and gardens. And a gardener since I obviously don’t know much about plants.
  • And a fabulous location in inner Portland close to lots of awesome places.

So, I began a very picky internet search. Lo and behold, I immediately found this beauty:

Um, YES! I’d like that please. Unfortunately I don’t have room in the budget for $825,000. This gem has five bedrooms, three and a half bathrooms, 4,600 square feet, and was built in 1907. Check out the gorgeous interior:

Photos are all courtesy of the Meadows Group, Inc.

I’m not sure about the backyard space, or whether there is a great studio or not. It does say there is an attached studio apartment that might make a great painting studio, or guest suite. Of course, I’d need a big family, constant stream of out-of-town guests, or visiting exchange students to fill this house. It wouldn’t make sense for just the two of us.

Next up, for a mere $1,595,000, I found this gorgeous 6 bedroom 5 bathroom renovated beauty queen. She was built in 1912 and features a complete renovation in a coveted part of Portland. The master suite includes vaulted ceilings, a spa bathroom, and a private balcony.

All photos courtesy of Keller-Williams.

Just for “fun,” I also calculated the mortgage on this one-and-a-half-million-dollar home. Assuming one had $319,000 as a 20% down payment a 30 year mortgage at 4.8% would set you back $6,752 a month. Gulp…

So, what about you? What would your dream house look like? Be as unreasonable and picky as you want!

This entry was posted in Home Ownership and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to What would your dream house be like?

  1. Beth Anne says:

    wow I’d totally take either one of those houses too…provided that someone else could handle that mortgage for us!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    I’m loving these houses! I love old but renovated houses as well. My favorites include ones that keep a lot of historical touches like intricate crown molding, refinished hardwoods, and time-period appropriate colors and certain appliances (I love claw-footed tubs!). Right now, though, I’m single and would love a small house. Preferably with a backyard and some sort of porch (screened in would be perfect!). A garage, 2 bedrooms/2 baths, and a kitchen with a gas stove would make my dream home right now!

  3. Nicole says:

    Those houses are gorgeous!

    I want a fixer-upper. We would both like a cottage/bungalow type house with 2-3 bedrooms, an open kitchen/dining, and a large living room. Prefer 2 baths but you take what you can get. I love interior design and decorating, so something that I could really put my touch on would be amazing. For now though… renting is what we’re doing.

  4. stephanie says:

    Wow is right. But of course I rarely see a house I dont like. Okay, occassionaly.

  5. Lindsay says:

    Beth Anne – Yes, I’m thinking lottery earnings including enough for the property taxes are probably the way to go πŸ˜‰

    Elizabeth – I love claw-footed tubs too and wish I had one.

    Nicole – There was a time I wanted a fixer-upper too. Then I looked at fixer-uppers and got scared away, but there are many who are braver than I. They make sense for many people.

    Stephanie – I rarely see a house for $1.5 million I don’t like. I do quite frequently see homes in my price range that I certainly do not like πŸ™‚

  6. stephanie says:

    lindsay, you’re going to love the irvington home tour! i often look at the pictures of previous tour homes for design ideas. http://www.irvingtonhometour.com/
    tickets go on sale the first week in april!

    the houses you picked would definitely be my dream houses in portland… however, i also dream of a house at the coast with a view of the ocean and a small patch of attached farmland πŸ™‚

  7. MM says:

    I think my dream house is the one I live in. I’d post pictures if I had them handy. HOWEVER, that being said, some renovations would need to be done, & I’d need a budget that could handle regular visits by the “handyman” and gardener.

    At my point in life, I want simple. I love decorating, but I like time to travel and relax, also. When I was younger, I did exactly what you are doing, Lindsay. Now, I love the house I’m in, built in 1957. It’s a large 3 bedroom brick ranch on a large urban plot. It’s very well built, and I have all the convenience of living in the city, but my neighborhood “feels” suburban in many ways.

    I have a huge (7000 gal) koi pond with a great waterfall. Call that my post-divorce folly. But I love it, and so does anyone that comes to the house.
    But maintaining the home in the manner in which it should be maintained is tough!

    Like Elizabeth, I’m single and the budget reflects that. Yes, mega lotto winnings must be the way to go. Either that or a sugar daddy…just kidding!

    Oh, and by the way, I did see a 1.5 million house the other day that was hideous. Total concrete exterior. Itty, bitty window slits. Stark doesn’t even begin to describe this house. All I could think of as I drove past was that somebody is actually proud to come home to this.

    The homes you found are stunning…I wouldn’t turn my nose up at them —as long as the handiman and gardener were part of the deal. πŸ™‚ MM

    • Lindsay says:

      It’s refreshing to hear you are in love with what you’ve already got! I certainly do love my condo and it is a dream house in many ways, but I still like to indulge my house-lust from time to time.

      Also, big concrete house + little windows does sound sad. Isn’t that the usual architecture of a prison? πŸ™‚

      • MM says:

        Yes, the friend I was with thought it was some sort of institution. It did look like a prison. Absolutely.

  8. moralia says:

    Wow.. not even in my dreams could I afford this! LOL!!!

    I would love an older home too.. small’ish side, high arched ceilings, winding staircase, claw footed tub, *sigh* I could go on and on!

    Love your blog btw! Going to add you to my blogroll, hope you don’t mind!

    ~C.
    http://www.halfdozendaily.wordpress.com

  9. Patti says:

    I always thought my dream home would be on the beach but changed my mind after renting one for a month. It was sooo close to the water that the spray came in when the waves were rough! Salt everwhere. Beautiful but a pain.

    I now live close to a river and I would LOVE to have a home on the river. Not too large. Two bed, two big bathrooms and a hugh enclosed back porch. I’m in Fl and the bugs are horrible! Modern kitchen but older details in the house.

    I would love a beautiful garden. My former townhouse had a nice back yard and pond with waterfall. The pond is what I miss. I had to contact the new owner months after I sold the place and asked him about the pond. He said the fish died and he shut it down.
    It was too much work for him. A shame.

    One day!

    Patti

    • Lindsay says:

      That’s a bummer about the fish 😦

      I know some people with ponds and they are quite a bit of work, but worth it to those who truly love them.

Comments are closed.