Cheesy potato gratin

My mom used to make this layered cheese and potato dish quite frequently. It goes great with grilled food and makes an excellent potluck dish. I’m not sure if it qualifies as a true gratin since it doesn’t contain any milk or cream. This dish is really fun and easy to make, and everyone loves it. I made it for a potluck this past weekend and it was completely gone within about half an hour.

Ingredients:

  • 8-12 Russet potatoes (I used 10 medium/smallish organic Russets)
  • 10-14 slices American cheese (No need to get fancy. Cheap-o American cheese gets the meltiest and gooiest.)
  • Large bunch fresh chives
  • Half a stick of butter
  • Salt and Pepper

First, scrub the potatoes and slice them thinly.

Next, generously butter a large ceramic dish and spread one layer of potato slices over the bottom.

Layer slices of cheese, pats of butter, snips of chives, and salt and pepper over the potatoes.

Repeat twice (two more layers of potato and two more layers of the other ingredients) ending with the cheese layer.

Cover with foil and bake for about 45 minutes in a 350 degree oven. After 45 minutes, remove the foil and bake for an additional 10-15 minutes until potatoes are tender and cheese is slightly brown.

Mmmmmmmm. Let it sit for 15-20 minutes and then dig in.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cheesy potato gratin

  1. Judy says:

    I remember having these wonderful potatoes when we would get together at your Mom’s house. Yes, they are yummy!!!!

  2. Jenna says:

    That….

    Well, heck. I’ll go with amazing, as my stomach is growling something fierce (hmm. Did I eat breakfast? I can’t remember.) And, added bonus – gluten free, so I’m all set.

    Had no clue what to make for dinner as I’m up to my hips in projects that all seem to need done last week – but I have everything it calls for and so at the least I can stop worrying about dinner! This and some salad will do for me, and enough roast chicken left in the fridge for the spousal unit. Thanks for ticking something off the never-ending to-do list for me!

Comments are closed.