Cleaning out the flatware drawer

Over the past couple weeks I’ve been noticing (and ignoring) a little grime showing its face in our flatware drawer. Finally, the time came to deal with the dirt. This is a quick little chore that you may want to consider. Just pull your spoons, forks, and knives out of the drawer and you may discover this:

Eeeeeeeeew. Grime. Fortunately this was easily solved.

First, take everything out of the drawer including any flatware organizers you might have. I just have this one bamboo tray.

I used a 50/50 vinegar water spray and a damp sponge to get up most of the crumbs and grime. Some stickier, greasier spots needed a small amount of dish soap. I made sure I got all the water and moisture up and left the drawer open to dry.

Then I quickly tackled the bamboo tray. Again, all it took was the vinegar spray, a damp sponge, and a little dish soap. Once that was all done, I left everything out to dry for a few minutes.

Then, the bamboo tray went back in the drawer, followed by all the flatware. Voila! A clean and tidy flatware drawer. Well worth the 20 minute project.

What little cleaning projects have you found that can go unnoticed and/or ignored for quite some time?

This entry was posted in Day to day and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cleaning out the flatware drawer

  1. carmen says:

    I had to do this a week or two ago, as well. I never know how crumbs can find their way into so many little places!

  2. MM says:

    Cleaning out the make-up drawer in the bathroom. Tossing out old stuff, cleaning the drawer and then organizing the remaining items. It’s such a pleasure the next morning to open up the drawer and find everything so neat and clean.

    Same deal with the medicine cabinet over the sink: I cleaned it out and now there is a place for everything (and everything stays in it’s place!) Funny how that works…I’m so much more inclined to keep things tidy when they are already tidy.

  3. Holly Young says:

    I did a miniature version of this to my ENTIRE CAR! More nooks and crannies still very much need attention, but it is funny how those little things can make us “feel” SO much better! 🙂

  4. MM says:

    I totally agree! A very good friend told me that during a time in her life when everything was out of control, she took control of the only thing she could: her car. She kept the interior of it totally neat and clean and she felt peaceful whenever she was in it.

    She’s a bit of a “neat freak” from where I sit, so I’m not sure how “out of control” the rest of her life might of appeared to anyone else. But she could control the interior of her car and felt all the better for it.

    And I’m not so sure, Holly, that these are little things. Every bit of clutter/disorganization that torments us (emphasis on us) that we can take charge of and change, helps us on many levels, I believe.

    It used to be that the more disorganized I felt inside, the more I organized or took charge of esternally. I wish I could say that the same holds true for me today. But my life circumstances have changed dramatically, so I can’t expect that what held true for me at age 25 or 30 would necesssarily hold true for me now at age 55.

    But I am relearning the lessons of my youth, and some new ones, and learning to help myself feel free of the clutter one drawer at a time! I like your thoughts, too. I’d like to be able to get into my car and have all the nooks and crannies clean and “crumb free.” MM

Comments are closed.