Rescuing bananas from a sad fate

Do you spot the little problem in the above photo? A few certain fruits are a bit past their prime. Not to fear! This is the perfect excuse to whip up a quick Banana Bread treat. I found this quick and tasty recipe on All Recipes. Just click here for the original and printable recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 2 and 1/3 cups mashed overripe bananas, about three bananas

First, I turned those browning bananas into a creamy mash.

Then, I sifted the flour, baking soda, and salt together.

In a separate bowl, I creamed the brown sugar and butter.

Finally, I added the eggs and banana mash to the butter mixture, blending well. I slowly added the flour and stirred until just combined. I poured the batter into a greased and floured bread pan.

I baked the Banana Bread for an hour at 350 degrees. Yummy!

Do you have any tips for saving food that would otherwise get tossed? Please share in the comments section below.

If you enjoyed this post, you might also enjoy this post on making a simple Pumpkin Bread or this post on baking Chocolate and Cream Cheese Cupcakes.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.