Some things in life are pricey…

… no matter how you slice it.

I love a bargain as much as anyone and I try to save money whenever possible. That said, some things in life are expensive no matter what. For example:

Now why (you may ask) is that little schnauzer of  your’s wearing such a ridiculous get-up? Well I’ll tell ya: periodontal surgery. The little guy suffers from periodontal disease due to the genetics of the breed and the fact that he is not a chewer. Two years ago he had half of his teeth removed. Last week, all the rest came out (except for his four canines).

The good news is that this is great for his health. He’s probably been in pain from the teeth essentially rotting in his little mouth and poor dental hygiene is terrible for his heart. He can happily eat soft food, in fact, he prefers it. And he can still play fetch with his tennis ball, so he could actually care less about his teeth being gone.

The bad news is that pet care is expensive! I’ve said it before, but it’s worth mentioning again. I feel pet ownership is worth the expense, but for some it may not be. The alternatives to spending money on his health are either to not own pets or let his health deteriorate. Neither is an option for me, so it’s pricey but I’m OK with it.

That said, we did manage to save money on the space cadet collar. He needs to wear it because he keeps licking his leg where the IV was inserted. You may notice the collar looks a bit DIY, and you are right! We had a little collar that wasn’t long enough but still fit around his neck so we rigged it up with some heavy-duty paper and packing tape. I’d guess we saved about $5. Not much, but it helps!

This entry was posted in Day to day, Money and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Some things in life are pricey…

  1. I’m right there with you on pet expense! We love our dogs, but last year two had some surgery and it wasn’t cheap. Their food is somewhat expensive too. We could go with cheaper stuff, but two out of the three have allergies so we’d end up spending more on vet bills to take care of that.

    All three of our dogs came from rescue, so we didn’t spend a lot to obtain them, and we love them to pieces, but if I had to do it over again would stop with one!

    Hope your little guy is feeling better soon. We have had similar issues with one of ours. Love your DIY “Elizabethan collar!”

    • Lindsay says:

      I think he is feeling great! He seems spunky and playful, but he just can’t forget about the spot on his leg so the collar has to stay on.

      Three dogs! We often talk about getting a second, but it certainly does add to the expenses so we’re giving it very careful thought. Not sure what we’re going to do. We’re also not sure our guy would get along with a newbie. He is very bossy, to put it mildly!

  2. MM says:

    I very much miss having a dog, but cannot commit to the vet bills and time commitment. Since I would want a puppy, and have a very busy work schedule, I don’t have the time to spend training the puppy. Also, should I downsize into an apartment, owning a dog might hinder my choices. But I miss a doggie companion. I love my 3 cats, but they aren’t the same. I’m glad you little guy doesn’t mind the collar, because he LOOKS like he’s p—-ed! MM

  3. Patti says:

    Poor pup. Hope he stops trying to lick his leg. I miss my dogs too. I’ve had a bird for years. While she is funny with her talking it’s not the same as big old dog eyes looking at you like you’re their world.

    Patti

Comments are closed.