Household maintenance check-in

Back in February,  I posted some household maintenance to-dos that were on my mind. To recap:

  • Fix the dishwasher – DONE!
  • Re-caulk the tub – sadly, not done
  • Re-paint the shower ceiling – DONE! read on…
  • Carpet the stairs – nope, not yet
  • Paint the living room – no… but I’ve thought about it
  • Install basement and garage shelves – um, no
  • Research and purchase some new furniture – Funny how the easiest, most fun, and most expensive item on the list is a big yes!

This past weekend, I decided to tackle some of the more time-intensive yet less expensive items on my to-do list, specifically re-painting the tub ceiling and repairing a part of the wall near the tub. It’s difficult to see here, but this is a photo of a spot next to the shower that has some moisture damage:

Moisture from the tub was escaping and splashing up and under the paint causing it to peel. The plaster was also beginning to crumble a bit. Additionally, there was this little issue on the door:

The door stop broke and left an unsightly hole in the door. And, as I mentioned before, the shower ceiling was beginning to flake in spots. These are all issues I wanted to tackle before they got worse. First I scraped the loose paint and plaster off everything. Yuck!

Then I patched up the damaged spots with some spackle.

Finally, I sanded the spackle down and painted over everything with a mold/mildew resistant primer and sealer.

The door and ceiling look great. The patch by the shower leaves much to be desired. Fortunately, I think I nipped the water damage in the bud. I plan to repaint the entire bathroom soon which will cover and blend the white repair patch on the wall.

What about you? Have you tackled any home maintenance projects recently?

This entry was posted in Home Ownership and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.