Sparkly handmade baubles

This weekend I dusted off my jewelry-making supplies and whipped up a few pairs of earrings.

These next two pairs include beads from Bead for Life, a non-profit organization that helps Ugandan women escape poverty through hand-crafting beads made from recycled paper.

I just find it very relaxing and satisfying to make jewelry. It’s fun to try out different color, texture, and material combinations. I also love using gold-filled or gold-toned metal because it sets these pieces apart from the usual silver or surgical steel earrings that are usually in stores. I’ve just been loving yellow gold lately.

If I keep this up I’ll have to open an Etsy shop or something…

If you’d like to read more about making jewelry, check out this post from a few months ago for tips and resources.

This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.