Mushroom and Spinach Quiche

Earlier this week, I mentioned a quiche recipe I’ve been meaning to share. This makes an excellent brunch or light lunch dish. I suppose it would work just as well for supper, but I always think of eggs as an earlier-in-the-day sort of meal.

Ingredients:

  • 5 eggs
  • 1 cup light cream
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 2 cups fresh spinach
  • 2 cups fresh mushrooms
  • 1/2 cup onion, chopped
  • 2 cups shredded cheese (I used a mix of swiss and cheddar)
  • pie crust
  • pat of butter

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Then, prep your pie crust. I just use a rolled up refrigerated store-bought crust and unroll it carefully into the pie dish.

 

2. Next, chop up the onion and wash and chop the spinach and mushrooms.

 

3. Over medium heat, saute the onion and mushrooms in the butter in a heavy skillet until soft, about 3-4 minutes. Add the spinach and stir until just wilted, about 1 minute. Remove from heat. (At this point, I moved the cooked veggies into a bowl to stop the cooking entirely… I didn’t want the spinach to get soggy.)

 

4. Shred and measure the cheese.

 

5. In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, cream, nutmeg, salt and pepper. Stir in the cheese and the veggies. Transfer to the pie crust.

 

6. Bake for 35-40 minutes at 400 degrees, or until bubbly and lightly browned. I had to put strips of foil over the edges of the crust about 20 minutes in to prevent them from burning. Let the quiche sit to cool for about 10-15 minutes after it comes out of the oven.

 

If you enjoyed this post, you may like some of my other baking posts:

This entry was posted in Entertaining, Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.