Money-and-time-saving household tips

I was feeling rather clever this weekend with a few time and money saving tips I’ve come to rely on and decided to share some of my household tricks with you.

1. Instead of throwing away containers of lotion, shampoo, conditioner, and the like when they still have product inside that you can’t get out, cut the plastic bottles in half and scoop out the product. I did this today with a tube of hand cream. There was plenty of cream left but I couldn’t get any more out. I cut the tube open and re-filled my travel/camping size hand cream container with the remaining contents.

 

2. Keep a charged-up dust buster on the second floor of your home. I often don’t feel like hauling the entire vacuum upstairs to clean, and I certainly dislike trying to vacuum the stairs themselves. Having the dust buster allows me to quickly vacuum up dust bunnies behind doors, the floor in the bathroom, and the hardwood stairs without the hassle of hauling the heavy vacuum around. Of course, at least once or twice a month, I have to bite the bullet and use the real vacuum. But this works great for smaller jobs.

 

3. Clean grass rugs with a dry powder cleaner. On Saturday, sweet little Bodhi had an accident on my sisal rug by the door. He almost made it outside… but not quite. Instead of replacing the rug, I decided to try my best to clean it. Moisture of any kind kills grass rugs, so I blotted it up as quickly as I could and threw some baking soda down. This didn’t entirely solve the problem, so today I used a scrub brush to scrub in a powder cleaner, let the powder sit for about half an hour, and vacuumed it up.

Disclaimer: This stuff is very fragrant. More fragrant than I normally care for, but I needed something stronger than plain baking soda. If your nose is sensitive, just try plain baking soda for light jobs.

 

4. If you feel like your wardrobe is lacking and you “have nothing to wear,” do all of your laundry (including stuff that needs to be hand-washed and hung to dry), finish all of your ironing, and gather clothes that need to go to the dry cleaners. I did this on Saturday and suddenly I feel like I have more than enough to wear.

 

5. Use white vinegar and plain baking soda for cheap and environmentally friendly household cleaning. I keep a spray bottle of 50/50 vinegar and water handy for cleaning glass, mirrors, and counter tops. This spray is also amazing at getting rid of soap scum in the shower when paired with a Magic Eraser sponge. I also keep a re-fillable plastic container of baking soda next to the kitchen sink for scrubbing up baked-on foods or cleaning the stainless sink.

 

How about you? Do you have any money-saving or time-saving household tips that make your life easier and cheaper?

This entry was posted in Day to day, Projects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.