Spring Cleaning 2011

It’s that time of year… spring cleaning time. It’s a chore for sure, but I always feel so good when my home is clean and healthy from top to bottom. And there are some tasks (::whispering:: like cleaning behind the fridge) we haven’t tackled in the two years we’ve lived here. It’s time. I will be enlisting the Mr’s help.

You can vote in the comment section which chores you think I should ask the Mr. to complete! (Note to Ryan: do not create fake reader names and vote for the easiest tasks.)

So…

Here is my list of everything I’d like to accomplish. This is in addition to the regular cleaning I do most every week.

Deep clean kitchen

  • Throw away all old food in cabinets and fridge.
  • Donate un-used dishes and utensils
  • Remove everything from cabinets and wipe inside and out.
  • Thoroughly clean fridge and freezer
  • Clean oven and stovetop
  • Clean dishwasher and under the sink
  • Pull fridge out and clean behind and around (ewwwwwwwww!)
  • Wash floor and scrub grout clean
  • Polish stainless steel

Bathroom

  • launder shower curtains
  • scrub tub and tile
  • edit toiletries

Living room and dining room

  • Vacuum upholstered furniture
  • Rent steamer and steam rug and furniture
  • Clean out the coat closet (it’s gross in there)
  • Clean out the dining room sideboard and take stuff to donate
  • Wash throws and pillows
  • Wash curtains (mine are machine washable and dry-able)

Bedroom

  • Vacuum and wipe down closet
  • Edit down clothing (I recently did this! Yay, one thing done.)
  • Vacuum and mop under bed (There is a family of dust bunnies that need to move)
  • Rotate and flip mattress
  • Wash mattress pad and skirt

Misc.

  • Baseboards. Blah.
  • Deep clean all wood floors.
  • Dust crown molding.
  • Clean light covers and bulbs.
  • Get quote on exterior windows. (They are too high to do ourselves.)
  • Use a sticky roller thing on the lamp shades.

Dogs

  • Wash all bedding and towels
  • Wash and edit toys

I’d like to have all of this done by mid-May, so I’m giving myself a decent amount of time. What’s on your spring cleaning list? Any tasks I’ve missed?

Vote in the comment section on which tasks the Mr. should do!

This entry was posted in Home Ownership, Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.